Defence officers academy

Ranks in Indian army

Ranks in Indian army

The Indian Army has a hierarchical structure consisting of various ranks in indian army, each denoting a specific level of responsibility and authority. Here are the ranks in the Indian Army, along with their corresponding symbols:

Field Marshal (Honorary rank) – National emblem over a crossed sword and baton in a lotus blossom wreath.

Description: This is an honorary rank and is the highest attainable rank in the Indian Army. It is reserved for exceptional military leaders and has rarely been awarded.

General – Crossed sword and baton with star and national emblem.

Description: The rank of General is the highest operational rank in the Indian Army. Generals hold the highest command and administrative positions in the Army.

Lieutenant General – Crossed sword and baton with national emblem above.

Description: Lieutenant Generals hold important operational and strategic leadership roles. They are responsible for commanding corps and divisions.

Major General – Crossed sword and baton with the star above

Description: Major Generals are responsible for command of brigades and are involved in operational planning and management.

Brigadier – Three stars in a triangle and National Emblem above

Description: Brigadiers command brigades, which are composed of multiple battalions. They play a crucial role in tactical operations.

Colonel – Two stars and the national emblem above

Description: Colonels are responsible for commanding infantry, armored, artillery, or other specialized regiments. They typically hold key staff positions at higher headquarters.

Lieutenant Colonel – One Star and National Emblem above

Description: Lieutenant Colonels hold important command and staff appointments in the Army. They often lead battalions or serve as staff officers.

Major – National Emblem

Description: Majors generally serve as company commanders or as staff officers in various positions.

Captain – Three stars in one line

Description: Captains serve as company commanders or as staff officers. They are responsible for leading a company of soldiers.

ranks in indian army

Lieutenant – Two stars in an upward triangle

Description: Lieutenants hold junior leadership positions and are responsible for platoons or smaller units.

Second Lieutenant – One star in an upward triangle

Description: Second Lieutenants are the most junior commissioned officers and typically serve as platoon commanders.

Junior Commissioned Officer (JCO) – Crest with three stars and an upward triangle

Description: JCOs are non-commissioned officers who hold leadership positions and assist officers in commanding units. They are promoted from enlisted ranks based on experience and merit.

Non-Commissioned Officer (NCO) – No symbol

Description: NCOs are enlisted personnel who hold various positions of responsibility within units. They are responsible for the training, discipline, and welfare of soldiers.

Soldier – No symbol

Description: Soldiers form the backbone of the Indian Army. They undergo basic training and serve in different roles based on their specialization.

It’s important to note that the symbols may vary slightly in design and appearance, but they generally represent the respective ranks in theย Indianย Army.

Enroll now for defence officers academy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *